On Sunday July 15, 2018 the 30th Galway Film Fleadh came to a close after another outstanding year of Irish and international film premieres, screenings, workshops and discussions., the annual awards ceremony took place before the screening of the closing film Black 47 . The Award Ceremony was attended by President of Ireland Michael D. Higgins. The winners are as follows –


  • Best International Short Documentary
    Winner: JUCK
    Director(s): Olivia Kastebring, Julia Gumpert & Ulrika Bandeira
  • Best International Short Fiction
    Winner: What Happened to Evie
    Director: Kate Cheeseman
  • The Don Quijote Award for Best Animated Short
    Winner: Yunshi
    Director: James W. Griffiths
  • Best International Short Animation
    Winner: The Driver is Red
    Director: Randall Christopher
  • Best Short Documentary
    Special Mention to JOHNNY by Hugh Rodgers
    Winner: Inhale
    Director: Sean Mullan
  • The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film in association with the Irish Society Of Cinematographers (ISC)
    Winner: Boy Saint
    Cinematographer: Kevin Treacy
  • Best Animated Sequence in a Short Film Award in association with Brown Bag Films
    for the beautiful and technically accomplished ghost sequence
    Winner: The Overcoat
    Director(s): Sean Mullen & Meelis Arulepp
  • Best First Short Animation Award in association with An Pucán & The Connacht Hotel
    Winner: The Usual
    Director: Eabha Bortolozzo & Jack Kirwan
  • Best First Short Fiction Award in association with Mazars
    Presented by: Paul Mee
    Winner: Boy Saint
    Director: Tom Speers
  • Pitching Award in association with 101 Films International
    Presented by: Steve Davey
    Winner: Liam Beatty – Alice Productions with a documentary entitled ‘Don’t Forget Your Dress’
  • Best International First Feature
    Winner: Gutland
    Director: Govinda Van Maele
  • Best International Feature Documentary
    Winner: Soufra
    Director: Thomas Morgan
  • Best International Feature
    Winner: Steel Country
    Director: Simon Fellows
  • Best Cinematography in an Irish Feature in association with Teach Solais
    Winner: When All Is Ruin Once again
    Cinematographer: Keith Walsh
  • Best Irish Feature Documentary
    Winner: Katie
    Director: Ross Whitaker
  • Best Irish First Feature in association with Troy Studios and Ardmore Studios
    Presented by Joe Devine
    Winner: Cellar Door
    Director: Viko Nikci
  • Best Irish Feature in association with Volta
    Presented by Charlene Lydon
    Winner: The Dig
    Director: Ryan & Andrew Tohill
  • The Tiernan McBride Award for Best Short Fiction in association with Network Television Ireland
    Presented by: Derry O Brien
    Winner: Wren Boys
    Director: Harry Lighton
  • The James Horgan Award for Best Short Animation
    Winner: The Wiremen
    Director Jessica Patterson
  • The Bingham Ray New Talent Award in association with Magnolia Pictures
    Martin Beirne – Director – Around Here
    Aislinn Clarke – Director – The Devil’s Doorway
    Brian J. Falconer – Producer – The Dig
    Jordanne Jones – Actor – Metal Heart
    Viko Nicki – Director – Cellar Door 

    Winner – Jordanne Jones – Actor – Metal Heart 

  • Best Human Rights Feature in association with Amnesty International
    Winner: Women of Venezuelan Chaos
    Director: Margarita Cadenas
  • Galway Hooker Award
    Presented to Andrew Lowe and Ed Guiney of Element Pictures